Your Ask The Experts ID
is separate from your
Order Online Account ID
 Race of the Week:  2023 Breeders' Cup Days Final Figures Santa Anita 3-4 November 2023  • 1 Specials Available
Order Online
Buy TG Data
Complete Menu of
TG Data products
Simulcast Books
Customize a Value
Package of Select
TG Data
Sheet Requests
Order The Last Figure for Any Horse
Free Products
Redboard Room
Download and Review previous days' data.
Race of the Week
With detailed comments
ThoroTrack
Email notification when your horse races
Information
Introduction
For newcomers.
Samples and Tutorials
For Horsemen
Consulting services and Graph Racing
Sales Sites
Where to buy TG around the country
Archives
Historical races and handicapping articles
Handicapping
Hall of Fame
Major handicapping contest winners
Home Page
Re: Triple Frown? (1632 Views)
Posted by: kekomi (IP Logged)
Date: June 08, 2018 01:37PM

It's been a long time since I posted, but I have some experience with professional human sports doping, so I thought I might contribute a little.

Regarding Justify, I've been convinced he's on a regimen since the foot problem. Most dopers shoot up in between their toes to hide the bruises. I imagine shooting up in a hoof is no different. If you shoot up into the most obvious places--sholders, flanks, withers--the tenderness is exposed just by rubbing your hands along the animal, even if you can't see the bruise for the hair.

If you shoot up in a hoof you'd want the hind on the horse's less dominant side. Like humans, most animals are righthanded, Justify's lameness was in his rear, left hoof. Injection site tenderness is very short lived (think of when you've gotten a vaccination). The horse was reshod with an ordinary shoe.