Your Ask The Experts ID
is separate from your
Order Online Account ID
 Race of the Week:  Kentucky Oaks and Derby Cards - Final Figures Churchill Downs, 4-5 September 2020 
Order Online
Buy TG Data
Complete Menu of
TG Data products
Simulcast Books
Customize a Value
Package of Select
TG Data
Sheet Requests
Order The Last Figure for Any Horse
Free Products
Redboard Room
Download and Review previous days' data.
Race of the Week
With detailed comments
Email notification when your horse races
For newcomers.
Samples and Tutorials
For Horsemen
Consulting services and Graph Racing
Sales Sites
Where to buy TG around the country
Historical races and handicapping articles
Hall of Fame
Major handicapping contest winners
Home Page
Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (246 Views)
Posted by: Socalman3 (IP Logged)
Date: September 07, 2020 04:55PM

hooper Wrote:
> This is the statement the Stewards attach to their
> decisions.
> With regard to interference, New York is a
> “Category 2” state, meaning that Commission
> rules provide that if the interferer is guilty of
> causing interference and such interference in the
> judgment of the Stewards has altered the finish of
> the race, then the interferer is placed behind the
> offended horse. The Stewards consider whether the
> riders of the horse or horses that are offended
> continue to give effort to the finish of the race.
> The Stewards also consider whether the offending
> jockey acted in a willful or careless manner while
> interfering with another horse or jockey, for
> which the interferer may be disqualified, i.e.,
> placed last or unplaced in the order of finish.
> For example, if an offending jockey acts in a
> dangerous manner, exhibits extremely improper
> riding or impedes several horses, the Stewards may
> disqualify the offending horse without regard to
> the specific effect of the foul on the order of
> finish.

Thank you. This strikes me as an insane rule. It is not the stewards fault with a rule like that. What does "altered the finish of the race" mean? A bad foul pretty much alters the finish of the race -- maybe not in a meaningful way for purse money or betting results - but the finish is pretty much altered.

And, how do they take into consideration if the jockey perseveres or not? That just seems like a recipe for disaster to me. What if the horse was injured by the foul or the jockey wanted to ride carefully because he did not know if the horse was injured or not? What if the horse went down -- no foul because the jockey did not persevere? It seems a crazy thing to consider if the foul was flagrant and capable of injuring the offended horse.

The foul in question here was blatant and flagrant - but it did not appear to be the jockey's fault -- the jockey seemed to do his best to avoid committing the foul but the horse had a mind of its own.

Subject Written By Posted
Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (306 Views) Socalman3 09/07/2020 02:53PM
Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (250 Views) hooper 09/07/2020 03:05PM
Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (246 Views) Socalman3 09/07/2020 04:55PM
Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (183 Views) hooper 09/07/2020 10:11PM
Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (199 Views) Molesap 09/07/2020 11:41PM
Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (182 Views) Socalman3 09/08/2020 11:27PM

Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.
This forum powered by Phorum.

Thoro-Graph 180 Varick Street New York, NY 10014 ---- Click here for the Ask The Experts Archives.