Re: Labor Day -- 7th at Saratoga -- Inquiry (180 Views)
Posted by: Socalman3
Date: September 08, 2020 11:27PM
> Well obviously Davis, the rider of Mrs Frankel
> disagreed because he lodged an objection. And the
> chart callers really didn't seem to agree either -
> I have appended the relevant chart notes below.
> Not sure how the stewards can make the judgment
> that the incident did not cost the horse a better
> placing. Once Lovestruck came out and knocked into
> Mrs Frankel, she seemed to lose any interest, but
> it is not like she was backing up at the time. She
> stopped after she got hit and still was a little
> over 2 lengths off the bottom slot in the trifecta
> at the wire. How can you say that the bump cost
> her less than two lengths? To some extent, I would
> be fine with this type of decision if it was
> consistently made, but it seems arbitrarily
> enforced. I think in many ways if they broadcasted
> EVERYTHING that went into the steward's decision
> live it would help with transparency, but I
> suspect that those of use still regularly
> handicapping would likely quit after the first
> exchange - but I gigress. I think it was a bad
> call and was surprised she did not come down,
> especially given some of the other horses they
> have DQ’d during the meet.
> From DRF Chart:
> “LOVESTRUCK… was aggressively maneuvered
> farther to the outside deep into the furlong
> grounds, on a mission to attain path four and
> better racing room, made hard contact with MRS
> FRANKEL, herself coming in with the rider applying
> some stick work from the right side, muscled her
> way into the coveted path at the expense of the
> aforementioned rival…”
> MRSFRANKEL (IRE) made it into the pocket nearing
> the end of the homestretch, eyed the front runners
> within striking distance, went approximately four
> wide into the lane, began to shift into a tighter
> fit along its path when fed some right side
> pressure in the furlong grounds just as the top
> one was herself getting steered towards her, lost
> any remaining interest after bumping soundly with
> that opponent in the vicinity of the eighth pole.
Thanks for the thoughtful reply. I really think the problem here is the rule.
I assume other jurisdictions have a better rules than this, no? I just do not see the justification for rule that permits a horse that commits a flagrant foul to stay up.
Sorry, only registered users may post in this forum.